‘Whose Pussy is This’: The Politics of Rape

xaroma

One Sunday night I was walking on the strip after having angrily left my ex for not being ready to leave soon enough. While I was walking (alone), two men were on the next side of the road and one catcalled me. I, in my out of order and bright self, ignored him. He became upset and said, “Girl, I would rape you.”

I don’t remember feeling anything other than fear. Fear plus regret for having left the safety of my ex’s side since it seems that the only protection a woman has is when she is in the company of a man. I’ve seen it: men have attempted to dance with clearly uninterested/unwilling women and have apologised to the men who return to their side; men have catcalled women then have apologised to the male company who showed up a few seconds later; or men have grabbed women’s hands…

View original post 638 more words

Leave a Reply

