Canada Chronicles, Chapter 1: 1st Flight

Since the beginning of May alllll the way down to August 31st, I’ve spent the most money and time getting things in order so I could get to Canada than I’ve ever done in 3 months to go even to University. By June, I gave up. By July, I was only going along with application processes and whatever else was required because too many people saw something in the opportunity that I was blind to. For me, being able to cross the Caribbean Sea was just like characters in books – faces you can imagine but never meet.

So even when I was in both the Norman Manley Int’l and the Pearson Int’l Airports, I was still basically in dream mode. I saw planes up close for the 1st time [yes, I know you’re thinking, “How old is she?“]; I felt the weight of my suitcases as I left my mother and other supporters behind for the 1st time; and I got to hear a real-life pilot on the telecom say cliche phrases for the 1st time. The only experience I had in which I was as aware as I was supposed to be, was when it hit me that the plane was no longer on the ground. Mi neva pray so hard inna mi life yet! I kept thinking, “Aright Shanese, a jus’ 4 hrs. Yuh cyah dead inna 4 hrs. Just imagine yuh inna class or sumn. Read sumn, shut the window, sing a sankey, pretend seh when the plane rock two side, is jus’ like when yuh inna coaster bus. BREATHE.”

Shortly before I landed. Was brave enough to look down on the clouds.
Shortly before I landed. Felt brave enough to look down on the clouds.

After a while I decided to just sleep it away and forget about even taking a pic of the view outside a plane, but when I woke up, only 10mins had passed. Then I decided to read, but it was Game of Thrones and the repetitive death scenes were not helping my paranoia. So I finally decided to tear my eyes out at the seat in front of me and occasionally scan the other passengers who were all, by 3:30am [it was a 2:30 flight] snoring their troubles away.

Funny enough, I was wide awake when I landed and for the rest of the day. Now I’m a person who loves laughing at the so called ‘struggles’ that people complain about… until I have them for myself, but this time I was thinking, “Pssh, wah name jet lag?” At 11am I was still roaming my mentor’s backyard, snapping pics and surfing the net. Then  mi go tek fass and lie down in the bedroom she said I could use, just to see what would happen. I only slept for 2 hrs. By the time I got up, I was really laughing my head off at the old jet lag stories. Then came night and we drove all the way back to Hamilton from Mississauga, so I could settle into the house I’ll be staying in for my tenure here. After all the pleasantries, I lie down again, just to get accustomed to the bed. This was about 11:15pm. I didn’t wake up till 11-something the next morning. The following night, I slept for a little over 9 hrs, and it just kept going like that till I got back down to 6 and 7 hrs. I can’t complain though. I actually felt more refreshed when I woke up after those long periods than I’m used to. Usually when I sleep that long, I feel waaay more tired than when I 1st went to bed.

It all has been an interesting experience though, and the pilots were very skilled in how they managed the plane. I couldn’t help admiring how smoothly the ride was going under the weight of so many 50lbs suitcases. And the flight attendants were just strolling through the passages like it was a day at the beach. They may as well have been whistling.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Food wasn’t bad either but it wasn’t great. Hats off to Fly Jamaica! But mi nuh wah go back pon plane though. Kevin, I share your sentiments:

Leave a Reply

